Waltraud’s unique Artwork

Below is an article translated into English by Helmut and Waltraud Kater (German expats now living in Australia). Please enjoy reading about Waltraud’s wonderful embroidery and quilting projects.

For some years I have been in contact with Waltraud and Helmut Kater from Wagga Wagga in Australia. Waltraud is a gifted quilter and highly talented embroiderer. The enthusiasm for her hobbies leaves her little time for internet activities and for this Helmut is keeping me informed and provides me with interesting news.

I got the first impression of Waltraud´s artistry when I received a couple of photos of a masterpiece in the making. Waltraud is creating a king size quilt. She is embroidering it with a variety of patterns in white and soft pastel tones. Finally it will be hand quilted.

1_WQ

A small sample of Waltraud´s big quilt

As Waltraud’s grandchildren value the abilities and skills of Oma she promised the four grandchildren one quilt each. For this she interrupted the work on her masterpiece and begun to work on the quilts for the kids. Right now I have received photos of the recently stitched and quilted artwork.

Usually I am principally involved in the Schwalm – Schwalm traditional costume, Schwalm White Embroidery and everything related to it. However the individual use of various embroidery and filling stitches on textile background ties different embroidery techniques together. Waltraud´s stitched quilt is so unique, so felicitous and so beautiful that I have to present the quilt here. May be that someone gets an idea or motivation for White Embroidery out of it.

2_WQ

Waltraud´s quilt for Anneliese

The quilt is for the bed of granddaughter Anneliese. That explains the size of 2.2 by 2.4 metres.
Waltraud used light lilac shadow play fabric and some pattern books where the granddaughter chose some segments. Waltraud transferred these segments onto paper and combined them with other motives. She was moving the groups of segments back and forward until the motives matched her imagination
3_WQ

Sample of playing with motifs

Waltraud liked using motives out of the colouring book “Secret Garden” by Johanna Basford, for example just the well out of the round motive.
4_WQThe next hurdle – the transfer of the complete pattern onto the cotton background done with a fine permanent pen – was no problem.
5_WQHaving a good drawing is one thing but transforming this without guidelines into embroidery is something different.
6_WQWhich threads will be the perfect ones? Which colours on the whole? Which part should lighter or darker? Which thickness of thread shall be used? What kind of stitches will be used and where?
Which areas shall be covered with filling stitches or just with single decorative stitches or where will be just the contours stitched? With all these questions the embroiderer is on her own and has to use her vision, talent, empathy and daring to deal with the challenges.
7_WQIn May 2015 Waltraud and Helmut visited their home country Germany (they migrated to Australia a few years ago to follow their children). They also came to Eschwege. At that time I could see the first stitches of that just started embroidery.
8_WQAt this time I was not able to imagine the finished result. Almost every day Waltraud embroidered and quilted, and now – after just 18 months – a big and beautiful artwork has emerged out of a little embroidery.
9_WQNot only the embroidery is perfect, also the quilting patterns are unique: the leaves falling from the tree, the pebbles at the well or at the gazebo, the whole impression of the quilt is amazingly beautiful! There are no words to describe the admirable one of a kind Waltraud has created.
For quilting Waltraud used cotton threads and pattern from various sources. The combination of the pattern and the many details has been created by her.

The following pictures show how the quilting raises the stitching.
10_WQ_Madchen mit Giesskanne ungequiltetThe picture above shows the stitching completed, the picture below shows the same motive quilted.
11_WQMuch more visible is the difference on the picture of the gazebo.
12_WQ_Gartenlaube ungequiltetThe embroidered and quilted areas appear relief-like.
13_WQFor embroidering Waltraud used threads of more than 70 colours. To embody the easiness of objects like dragonflies or butterflies with the material she used silk sowing thread 50 weight for spiders and all flying objects. For all other embroideries she chose hand dyed pearl threads 12 and solid coloured pearl threads 16.
14_WQBetween them were variegated threads which she used to create leaves effectively,
15_WQas shown in the detail photo of the tree top.
16_WQThe complete picture is unobtrusive but expressive – a tightrope walk, only performed by an absolute master.
17_WQA piece of such a size cannot be shown properly in a blog article.
18_WQIt is better to see this as an original.
19_WQA unique quilt has been created where the granddaughter can always find new details. (By the way, the quilt can be machine washed at wool cycle if really necessary. For drying it has to lie flat with the embroidery facing down).
20_WQDiscover more of the beautiful details by looking at the following pictures.
21_WQThe floral arch above the garden gate,
22_WQthe garden gate with parts of the fence,
23_WQthe house with the stepping stones,
24_WQor the corner block.
25_WQAll lovingly and elaborate details show the pleasure in the hobby and the skills in designing.

Unfortunately the art of embroidery in the world has not the value it deserves. Waltraud is a real artist in embroidery and is contributing with her skills that this art is more focused on and more appreciated.

May Waltraud have the strength for a long period to create and complete other big artworks (they also can be smaller). Hopefully we can see her masterpiece in White. We will be happy.

If you have any question or would like to communicate with Waltraud and Helmut you can contact them via email on kater.h@westnet.com.au.

5 Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing Luzine.
    A great artist indeed The piece is so beautiful and exquisite A beauty and a treasure for her grandchild.

  2. Thank you Luzine for showing the embroidery community Waltraud’s beautiful work. We know her as Val here in Australia I am actually her teacher and heavens what an amazing talent Waltraud has, she hardly knew what a stem stitch was when she first started my class. Waltraud was like a duck to water and each week she would tackle any stitch that was shown to her, and honestly I dug up stitches from all over the world. Each week we could see Waltraud’s work coming to life and developing into beautiful pieces of art, her grand children are indeed very lucky to be the recipients of them. Congratulations Val I am so pleased, happy and proud for you. Wait until you get see the king size quilt.

    • Thank you, Judy, for this comment.
      It gives a better insight in the artist´s work and shows me once more, how talented VAL is.

  3. Wow, what a fantastic quilt, such a treasure!
    I like the idea of getting inspiration from colouring books 🙂
    xx

    • Hello Radka,
      Yes, it is a fantastic treasure. I saw on your website, that you do patchwork combined with embroidery and sometimes also quilting. So you are an insider knowing of the elaborateness and artistry of this piece. Do you know a website, showing whitework combined with quilting?

Leave a Reply

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Language:

Luzine Happel - Logo

Waltrauds einzigartiges Kunstwerk

Seit einigen Jahren stehe ich in Kontakt zu Waltraud und Helmut Kater aus Wagga Wagga in Australien. Waltraud ist eine begabte Quilterin und eine hochtalentierte Stickerin. Die Begeisterung für Ihre Hobbys lässt ihr wenig Zeit für Internetaktivitäten, und so pflegt Helmut den Kontakt und versorgt mich hin und wieder mit wissenswerten Neuigkeiten.

Den ersten kleinen Eindruck von Waltrauds Kunstfertigkeit bekam ich durch ein paar Fotos ihres in Arbeit befindlichen Meisterwerkes. Waltraud will einen Bettüberwurf fertigen. Sie bestickt ihn über und über mit den unterschiedlichsten Mustern in weiß und zarten Pastelltönen. Später soll das Teil gequiltet werden.

1_WQ

Kleiner Ausschnitt aus Waltrauds großem Quilt

Da ihre Enkelkinder die Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten der Oma in dieser Hinsicht sehr schätzen, hat sie jedem der vier Enkel einen Quilt versprochen. Dafür hat sie die Arbeit an ihrem Meisterwerk unterbrochen und sich an die Fertigung der Quilts für die Enkel begeben. Nun erreichten mich die Bilder des gerade fertiggestellten gestickten und gequilteten Kunstwerkes.

Eigentlich beschäftige ich mich ja mit der Schwalm – der Schwälmer Tracht, der Schwälmer Weißstickerei und allem, was damit in Zusammenhang steht. Doch die individuelle Gestaltung von textilem Grundmaterial mit den unterschiedlichsten Stickstichen und Flächenfüllmustern stellt die Verbindung zwischen verschiedenen Sticktechniken her. Waltraud´s gestickter Quilt ist so einzigartig, so gelungen und so schön, dass ich ihn hier zeigen muss. Und vielleicht kann man ja auch die eine oder andere Idee oder Anregung für die Weißstickerei daraus mitnehmen.

2_WQ

Waltrauds Quilt für Anneliese

Der Quilt soll als Überwurf für Anneliese´s Bett dienen. Daher erklären sich die Ausmaße von 2,2 m x 2,4 m. Waltraud besorgte weißgrundigen Stoff mit zartlila Wolken und einige Vorlagenbücher, aus denen sich die Enkelin einzelne Segmente heraussuchte. Diese Motive übertrug Waltraud auf Transparentpapier und kombinierte sie mit anderen Einzelmotiven. Sie schob hin und her und kombinierte immer wieder anders, bis die Motivgruppen ihren Vorstellungen entsprachen.

3_WQ

Spielereien mit Vorlagen

Gern wählte Waltraud auch Vorlagen aus dem Mal-, Zeichen- und Ausfüllbuch „Mein verzauberter Garten“ von Johanna Basford, wie z.B. den mittleren Ausschnitt des Motivs mit dem Brunnen.
4_WQDie nächste Hürde – das gekonnte Verteilen der Motive in der Fläche – war schnell und unproblematisch genommen. Die Motive waren mit feinem Stift auf Baumwollstoff aufgezeichnet.
5_WQEine gute Linienzeichnung zu haben, ist eine Sache, doch diese Linien ohne Vorlage in Stickerei umzusetzen, ist eine andere Sache.
6_WQWelche Garne sagen einem zu? Welche Farben wählt man insgesamt? Welche Bereiche gestaltet man mit den gewählten Farben eher heller oder doch lieber dunkler? Welche Garnstärken verwendet man? Mit welchen Stichen führt man die einzelnen Segmente aus? Welche Flächen werden vollständig ausgefüllt, welche Flächen werden mit einigen Zierstichen geschmückt, welche Flächen werden nur durch Umrisse gekennzeichnet? Bei all diesen Fragen ist die Stickerin auf sich allein gestellt und muss diese Herausforderungen mit Weitsicht, Talent, Einfühlungsvermögen und Wagemut meistern.
7_WQAls Waltraud und Helmut im Mai 2015 die alte Heimat bereisten (sie sind vor einigen Jahren nach Australien ausgewandert, um ihren Kindern zu folgen), machten sie auch einen Abstecher nach Eschwege. Damals durfte ich die ersten Stiche der gerade begonnenen Stickerei betrachten.
8_WQZu dieser Zeit konnte ich mir das fertige Ergebnis beim besten Willen nicht vorstellen. Waltraud hat fast täglich stundenlang gestickt und gequiltet, und so ist jetzt – nach nur gut 18 Monaten – aus einer kleinen Stickerei ein riesiges, wunderschönes Kunstwerk geworden.
9_WQUnd nicht nur die Stickerei an sich ist perfekt, auch die Quiltmuster sind einzigartig: die Blätter, die von den Bäumen fallen, die Steine am Brunnen oder an der Gartenlaube, die Spiralen, die die Schwünge der Stickerei aufgreifen – der gesamte Quilteindruck ist überwältigend schön! Man kann kaum Worte finden für das herrliche Unikat, das Waltraud damit geschaffen hat.
Zum Quilten verwendete sie Baumwollgarne und Muster verschiedener Vorlagen. Die Zusammenstellung der Vorlagenmuster und ganz viele Feinheiten hat sie sich selbst ausgedacht.

Welch erhabene Wirkung das Quilten der Stickerei verleiht, sieht man auf den folgenden Bildern:
10_WQ_Madchen mit Giesskanne ungequiltetDas obere Bild zeigt einen Ausschnitt der Arbeit nach beendeter Stickerei, das Bild unten zeigt den gleichen Ausschnitt fertig gequiltet.
11_WQNoch besser sieht man den Unterschied auf den Bildern mit der Gartenlaube:
12_WQ_Gartenlaube ungequiltetReliefartig treten die gestickten und gequilteten Partien hervor.
13_WQZum Sticken benutzte Waltraud Garne in mehr als 70 Farben. Um der Leichtigkeit mancher Objekte, wie Libellen oder Schmetterlingen, schon durch das Material Ausdruck zu geben, verwendete sie für Spinnen und alle fliegenden Objekte Seidengarne der Stärke 50. Für alle übrigen Stickereien wählte sie handgefärbte Perlgarne der Stärke 12 und einfarbige Perlgarne der Stärke 16.
14_WQDarunter waren auch Farbverlaufsgarne, mit denen sie unter anderem die Blätter effektvoll gestaltete,
15_WQwie die Detailfotos aus einer Baumkrone eindrucksvoll zeigen.
16_WQDas Gesamtbild ist dezent und dennoch ausdrucksstark – eine Gratwanderung, die nur eine absolute Stickmeisterin beherrscht!
17_WQLeider kann ein solch großes Teil in einem Blogbeitrag nur unzureichend bebildert werden.
18_WQMan müsste es im Original sehen können.
19_WQEin einmaliger Quilt ist hier entstanden, an dem die Enkelin immer und immer wieder neue Details entdecken kann. (Übrigens, der Quilt kann im Schongang der Waschmaschine gewaschen werden, wenn es unbedingt erforderlich sein sollte. Getrocknet wird er glatt liegend mit der Stickerei nach unten.)
20_WQEntdecken auch Sie immer mehr der herrlichen Details beim Betrachten der folgenden Bilder.
21_WQDie Blumenranke über dem Gartentor,
22_WQdas Gartentor mit Teilen des Zaunes,
23_WQdas Haus mit dem Plattenweg,
24_WQoder das Eckteil –
25_WQaus all den liebevoll und aufwändig gestalteten Details kann man die Freude an der Arbeit spüren und die Kunstfertigkeit in der Gestaltung sehen.

Leider hat die gestickte Kunst in der Welt noch nicht den Stellenwert, der ihr gebührt. Waltraud ist eine wahre Stickkünstlerin und wird mit Ihrer Arbeit ein wenig dazu beitragen, dass diese Kunst mehr in den Focus rückt und besser gewürdigt wird.

Möge Waltrauds Kraft noch lange ausreichen, um andere große Kunstwerke (vom Format her können sie auch kleiner sein) entstehen zu lassen. Vielleicht dürfen wir ja eines Tages auch einen Blick auf ihr vollendetes Meisterwerk in Weiß werfen. Wir würden uns freuen!

Wenn Sie Fragen haben oder sich an Waltraud und Helmut wenden möchten, können Sie das gern per Email tun kater.h@westnet.com.au .

5 Kommentare
  1. Thanks for sharing Luzine.
    A great artist indeed The piece is so beautiful and exquisite A beauty and a treasure for her grandchild.

  2. Thank you Luzine for showing the embroidery community Waltraud’s beautiful work. We know her as Val here in Australia I am actually her teacher and heavens what an amazing talent Waltraud has, she hardly knew what a stem stitch was when she first started my class. Waltraud was like a duck to water and each week she would tackle any stitch that was shown to her, and honestly I dug up stitches from all over the world. Each week we could see Waltraud’s work coming to life and developing into beautiful pieces of art, her grand children are indeed very lucky to be the recipients of them. Congratulations Val I am so pleased, happy and proud for you. Wait until you get see the king size quilt.

  3. Wow, what a fantastic quilt, such a treasure!
    I like the idea of getting inspiration from colouring books 🙂
    xx

    • Hello Radka,
      Yes, it is a fantastic treasure. I saw on your website, that you do patchwork combined with embroidery and sometimes also quilting. So you are an insider knowing of the elaborateness and artistry of this piece. Do you know a website, showing whitework combined with quilting?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Spende

Spende

Sprache:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen