Schwalm Costume – The Dark Aprons

White or dark aprons were a component of the festive Schwalm costume for women. Here you will learn a little bit about the dark aprons; the white aprons will be the subject of a separate article.

The dark aprons were simple and unfussy in appearance and style.
The bottom edge of the apron fell just above of the bottom edges of the skirt, and the sweep of the apron was about half that of the skirts.
Schwalm women had aprons that were black and dark blue with either a polished or matte finish. The aprons with a dull finish were worn in mourning. On Sundays the shiny linen aprons were worn. For celebrations and holidays extra shiny satin aprons were preferred. Fabric with a satin weave created a high gloss finish on the front side and a matte finish on the back.
To special celebrations, such as weddings, the women wore the röserische (moire) aprons. The fabric of these aprons underwent an additional process to get this special rose pattern. Mostly these aprons were made from linen, as the image below shows.
Röserische aprons made from satin were rare.
Often dark blue aprons were worn on black skirts and vice versa.

The aprons had a length of about 55–60 cm and a width of about 145–152 cm. Most of the weaving looms of the Schwalm region were made for narrower widths. So, the aprons were mostly made with two strips of fabric with a seam in the middle.

At the waistline, the middle section of the apron was flat for about 16 cm. To the left and to the right of this section, the apron was gathered with tiny pleats. Short sections on both sides were again left flat. In this way, the apron could spread over the width of the skirts without adding too much bulk over the belly. The aprons’ waistband was small and was closed in the back with a hook and eye.
The pleats were laid carefully and evenly and were usually secured with several rows of Running stitches, sometimes also with Back stitches.
The hems of the aprons were up to 15 cm deep. The deep hem added weight to the aprons creating an attractive drape on top of the skirts.
Of course the dark and unfussy aprons got a variety of decorations. Silk bands, small apron bands, and the apron corners with their blaze of colour ensured that there was always splendor. But I will dedicate separate articles to all these decorative elements of the festive Schwalm costume for women – I hope you will look forward to them.

Leave a Reply

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Language:

Luzine Happel - Logo

Schwälmer Tracht – Die dunklen Schürzen

Zur stolzen Schwälmer Mädchen- und Frauentracht gehörten verschiedene Schürzen – weiße und dunkle. Hier erfahren Sie zunächst etwas über die dunklen Schürzen; den weißen Schürzen bleibt ein gesonderter Beitrag vorbehalten.

Die dunklen Schürzen waren schlicht in Aussehen und Ausführung.
Sie endeten kurz über dem Rocksaum und bedeckten den Umfang der Röcke ungefähr zur Hälfte.
Die Schwälmerinnen besaßen schwarze und dunkelblaue, glänzende und nicht-glänzende Schürzen.
Die nicht-glänzenden Schürzen wurden während der Trauer getragen.
An Sonntagen trug man glänzende Leinenschürzen. Zu Feierlichkeiten und Festen trug man hochglänzende Schürzen aus Satin, in der Schwalm „Atlasschürzen“ genannt. Durch die Atlasbindung entstand beim Weben ein Stoff, der auf der Vorderseite starken Glanz erhielt, auf der Rückseite aber matt erschien.
Zu ganz besonderen Festen und an hohen Feiertagen trug man Schürzen aus Moiré, in der Schwalm „röserische“ Schürzen genannt. Meist waren die „röserischen“ Schürzen aus Leinen, wie diese im Bild unten.
Selten gab es auch „röserische“ Schürzen aus Satin.
Oft wurden blaue Schürzen über schwarzen Röcken getragen und umgekehrt.

Die Schürzen waren ca. 55 – 60 cm lang und ca. 145 – 152 cm breit. Da die meisten Webstühle dieser Gegend nur für geringere Breiten eingerichtet waren, mussten die Schürzen aus zwei Bahnen zusammengesetzt werden. Sie erhielten eine Mittelnaht.

Das Mittelstück der Schürze war auf einer Breite von ca. 16 cm glatt, dann folgten links und rechts dicht eingekräuselte Partien. Die seitlichen Restpartien waren wieder glatt. So konnte sich die Schürze über die Weite der Röcke breiten, ohne im Bauchbereich zu füllig zu sein. Die Schürzenbund war schmal und wurde im Rücken mit Haken und Öse geschlossen.
Die Fältchen wurden sehr sorgsam und gleichmäßig gelegt und meist mit mehreren Reihen von Vor-, manchmal auch Steppstichen am Platz gehalten.
Die Schürzensäume waren bis zu 15 cm breit. Dadurch wurden die Schürzen am unteren Rand schwerer und lagen gut auf den Röcken auf.
Natürlich bekamen die schlichten dunklen Schürzen noch diversen Schmuck – Schürzenbänder, Schürzenbändchen und Schürzenecken sorgten mit ihrer Farbenpracht für Leuchtkraft. Diesen schmückenden Bestandteilen der stolzen Schwälmer Frauentracht sind gesonderte Beiträge gewidmet.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Sprache:

Luzine Happel - Logo