New Lessons for Beginners – An Overview

As I grow older I begin to think of rounding off my publications so to ensure the continued interest in and working of Schwalm whitework.

My book Basic Principles of Schwalm Whitework has been well received. Schwalm embroiderers like it and have it always at their fingertips. However, these embroiderers have also told me that the book’s project is much too ambitious for beginners.

And so, I took out small parts, described them in substantially more detail, and added many more step-by-step pictures. I now plan to offer four different lessons for beginners. They will allow one to learn – completely self directed – the extensive techniques of Schwalm whitework step by step. All instructions have been proofed by many students.

The publications are:
Lesson #1 – Happel Hearts
Lesson #2 – Tulip Wreath
Lesson #3 – Openwork Circle Design Ornaments
Lesson #4 – Needle-Weaving Band Sampler

Although the first lesson – Happel Hearts – has already been presented as an online class n, each of the lessons will be discussed in greater detail in future articles.

Lesson #1 will now be offered without my online help. However, for one to succeed it is important to learn about the materials used in Schwalm whitework. For that reason I will offer a kit containing all the needed supplies. (Details of the kit will be included in a future article.) For your convenience, the kit will include all supplies needed for lesson #1 and lesson #3. There will also be a small sample of the linen used in lesson #2.

A newcomer to Schwalm whitework should absolutely start their studies with lesson #1. After completing this lesson, one can choose to continue either with lesson #2 or with lesson #3. Lesson #4 is a stand-alone unit that only requires some basic knowledge of embroidery.

The lesson booklets are also well suited for Schwalm teachers. The step-by-step instructions and many pictures will enhance and support a teacher’s lesson.

A word about the linen, Schwalm whitework is a combination of surface embroidery and drawn thread work. It is worked on densely woven pure linen. The dense weave enables perfect surface embroidery like leaves, stems, small flowers, eyelets, and tendrils. And withdrawing threads facilitates stitching the filling patterns into the shapes.

The most widely used linen for Schwalm whitework is linen with 16 threads per cm (Weddigen article 925). But for beginners it is difficult to withdraw the fabric threads of this linen. So all lessons (#1, #3, and #4) that deal mostly with this subject are worked on linen with a lower thread count – 13.5 threads per cm (Weddigen article 160).

One of the goals of lesson #2 was to learn how to embroider on the finer linen. But in the proofing tests some of the ladies found it difficult to use this linen. So the lesson was redesigned. Now the same design and the same steps can be worked optionally on either the 16 threads per cm or the 13.5 threads per cm linen. As mentioned above, the kit for lesson #1 will also include a small sample piece of linen with16 threads per cm.

Please anticipate more information on the individual lessons soon.

Coming soon:
All booklets and kits are ready for purchase, however they have not yet been added to my online shop. If you would like to purchase or have any questions regarding these items, please email me at leuchtbergverlag@aol.com.

3 Comments
  1. Thank you for replying and telling me about the booklets. Could you tell me the price of lessons 1 and 2? Do you have any lessons on how to do cut work embroidery?

    I have done some in the past but it has been a long time. It was done with Coton a broder, now hard to find.
    .

    • The lesson booklets #1 and #2 are €25 each (including 7 % sales tax), 23.36 € outside the EU.
      A lesson for cut work, filled with needlelace, I did not establish so far.

  2. Da ich schon lange mit dem Gedanken spiele die Technik zu erlernen freue ich schon auch die Lektionen und auch auf das entsprechende Materialpaket. Oder ich mache erst mal den Onlinekurs. Ich werde es mir überlegen.

Leave a Reply

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Donation

Donation
To change the language on the donation page, click the word beside the flag or the flag at the bottom of the page.

Language:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Neue Lektionen für Anfänger – Ein Überblick

Auch ich werde älter und denke daran, meine Arbeit so aufzustellen, dass auch zukünftige Stickerinnen die wunderschöne und vielfältige Technik der Schwälmer Weißstickerei erlernen können, ohne vor Ort einen Lehrer zu haben.

Mein Buch Grundlagen der Schwälmer Weißstickerei ist gut angekommen, die Stickerinnen mögen es und haben es immer zur Hand. Gleichwohl informierten mich diese Stickerinnen aber auch darüber, dass das Projekt dieses Buches zu umfassend und zu anspruchsvoll für Anfänger ist.

So habe ich kürzere Sequenzen entnommen, diese sehr viel ausführlicher erklärt und mit vielen weiteren Schritt-für-Schritt Fotos bebildert. Nun plane ich, vier verschiedene Lektionen für Anfänger zu veröffentlichen. Sie erlauben, die umfangreiche Technik der Schwälmer Weißstickerei Schritt für Schritt und ohne fremde Hilfe zu erlernen. Alle Instruktionen wurden bereits von vielen Lernwilligen getestet.

Publiziert werden:
Schwälmer Weißstickerei Lektion #1 – Happel Herzen
Schwälmer Weißstickerei Lektion #2 – Tulpenkranz
Schwälmer Weißstickerei Lektion #3 – Kreis-Ornamente mit Lichten Mustern
Schwälmer Weißstickerei Lektion #4 – Mustertuch mit Stopfhohlsäumen

Auch wenn die erste Lektion – Happel Herzen – schon als Online-Kurs präsentiert wurde, wird jede Lektion noch einmal ausführlich in künftigen Blogbeiträgen erläutert.

Lektion #1 wird nun ohne meine Online-Hilfe angeboten.Für Lernwillige ist es wichtig, die geeigneten Materialien zu haben, um erfolgreich sein zu können. So habe ich mich entschlossen, auch eine entsprechende Materialpackung anzubieten. (Nähere Informationen dazu kann man einem zukünftigen Beitrag entnehmen.) Soviel sei schon jetzt gesagt: Die Packung wird alle benötigten Materialien für die Lektionen #1 und #3 sowie ein Leinenmuster für die Lektion #2 enthalten.

Ein Einsteiger in Schwälmer Weißstickerei sollte unbedingt mit der Lektion #1 starten. Nach erfolgreichem Durchlaufen/Abarbeiten dieser Lektion kann man wählen, ob man mit Lektion #2 oder #3 weiterlernen will. Lektion #4 ist eine eigenständige Einheit – man benötigt dazu nur Grundkenntnisse der Stickerei allgemein.

Die Lektionen sind auch gut für Kursleiter geeignet. Die Schritt-für-Schritt Anleitungen und die vielen Bilder unterstützen und verstärken die Lehrstunden.

Noch ein Wort zum Leinen: Schwälmer Weißstickerei ist eine Kombination aus Oberflächenstickerei und Durchbruchstickerei. Sie wird auf dicht gewebtem Leinen ausgeführt. Die dichte Webstruktur ermöglicht perfekte Oberflächenstickerei wie die von Blättern, Stielen, kleinen Blumen, Schnürlöchern und Spiralen. Und das Entfernen einiger Gewebefäden in den Motivflächen erleichtert das Einsticken von Füllmustern.

Das am meisten verwendete Leinen für die Schwälmer Weißstickerei ist 16-fädiges Leinen der Weberei Weddigen (Weddigen Artikel 925). Aber für Anfänger ist es sehr schwierig, aus diesem feinen Leinen Fäden auszuziehen. So sind alle Lektionen, in denen der Fadenauszug eine wichtige Rolle spielt (#1, #3 und #4) , auf etwas gröberem Leinen gearbeitet – dem 13,5-fädigen Leinen der Weberei Weddigen (Weddigen Artikel 160).

Eines der Ziele von Lektion #2 war, zu lernen, mit dem feineren Leinen zu arbeiten. Aber in den Prüf-Tests hatten einige Damen Schwierigkeiten, besonders beim Fadenauszug. So wurde diese Lektion umgestaltet. Nun sind die gleichen Arbeitsschritte mit dem gleichen Muster wahlweise auch auf dem 13,5-fädigen Leinen ausführbar. Wie bereits erwähnt, enthält die Materialpackung #1 ein kleines Stoffmuster des 16-fädigen Leinens. So kann man am Ende von Lektion #1 ausprobieren, ob man mit dem feineren Leinen zurecht kommt.

Nähere Informationen zu den einzelnen Lektionen erfolgen demnächst.

Bald erscheinend:

3 Kommentare
  1. Thank you for replying and telling me about the booklets. Could you tell me the price of lessons 1 and 2? Do you have any lessons on how to do cut work embroidery?

    I have done some in the past but it has been a long time. It was done with Coton a broder, now hard to find.
    .

    • The lesson booklets #1 and #2 are €25 each (including 7 % sales tax), 23.36 € outside the EU.
      A lesson for cut work, filled with needlelace, I did not establish so far.

  2. Da ich schon lange mit dem Gedanken spiele die Technik zu erlernen freue ich schon auch die Lektionen und auch auf das entsprechende Materialpaket. Oder ich mache erst mal den Onlinekurs. Ich werde es mir überlegen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Spende

Spende

Sprache:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen