Marina’s Lovely Tablecloth

Some time ago a lady emailed me; included in the email were pictures of a beautiful project. It is absolutely worth seeing, so I want to share it with you now.
Marina_1In my post on 30 November 2013 I added a link to a special project. Simple_Spontaneity[1].pdf
In Canada Barbara Kershaw had started a group project, using as its focus and inspiration my book Fancy Hems. You can see the gorgeous results by following the project link. A very similar project was started by Erma Scrimgeour.
Marina_2As chance would have it, one of the students, Marina, had to move to Turkey; she took with her the newly commenced embroidery and my instruction book.

Now she has finished the project — u n a s s i s t e d !

The following is our correspondence:
I thought you might like to see my adaptation of your Fancy Hems design. I started working on it when I was living in Montreal, Canada. At the Lakeshore Creative Stitching Guild we organized a special group led by Erma Scrimgeour where we were stitching our tablecloths from your Fancy Hems book. It took me a while to finish it. During this time, I’ve managed to move from Canada to Turkey and this was my first piece that I’ve finished at the new place. It’s the first time I’ve attempted to tweak a design like this and I must say I’m pretty pleased with the end result. I thoroughly enjoyed stitching the design and look forward to your new releases.

Congratulations, Marina!

Your tablecloth looks sooo very pretty. All the details are perfectly worked: the different decorating stitches, the needleweaving, the Peahole hems and the double Peahole hems, and last but not least the corners! I especially love the small flower border and the matching ornament in the corners very much.Marina_3
Marina told me, she used Strathaven linen which is about 32/33/inch thread count (13/cm thread count). She also used a combination of threads: pearl cotton #8 thread for the satin stitch (she wanted some shine for the satin stitch), and coton à border #20 for needle weaving, and #25 for pulled stitches.Marina_4
Always enjoy embroidery—maybe your new friends will want to follow your example and work a similar tablecloth.

Good luck in your new home and thanks for sharing, Marina!Marina_5

2 Comments
  1. Thank you for sharing this beautiful tablecloth.

  2. Beautiful, glad to hear she used Strahaven linen and pearl cotton.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Language:

Luzine Happel - Logo

Marina’s prachtvolle Mitteldecke

Vor einiger Zeit erhielt ich eine nette E-Mail mit Bildern einer sehr schönen Stickerei, die ich Ihnen nicht vorenthalten möchte.
Marina_1In meinem Blog- Beitrag vom 30. November 2013 habe ich einen Link zu einem ganz speziellen Projekt Simple_Spontaneity[1].pdf aufgezeigt.

In Kanada startete Barbara Kershaw ein Gruppenprojekt. Ideen- und Ratgeber war mein Buch Randabschlüsse. Auch Erma Scrimgeour begann ein ähnliches Projekt und stickte mit ihrer Gruppe Mitteldecken.
Marina_2Wie der Zufall es wollte, musste eine der Teilnehmerinnen, Marina, in die Türkei umziehen. Sie nahm ihre gerade begonnene Stickerei und mein Anleitungsbuch mit.

Nun hat sie ihre Decke fertiggestellt – g a n z    a l l e i n !

Sie schrieb:
Ich glaube, es wird Sie interessieren, meine Umsetzung Ihres Randabschlüsse-Musters zu sehen. Ich begann damit, als ich noch in Montreal/Kanada lebte. Innerhalb der Lakeshore Creative Stitching Guild bildeten wir eine spezielle Gruppe, die von Erma Scrimgeour geleitet wurde. Wir alle stickten Mitteldecken nach Ihrem Buch „Randabschlüsse“. Es hat eine ganze Weile gedauert, bis ich damit fertig wurde. Denn während dieser Zeit musste ich meinen Umzug in die Türkei organisieren. Dies ist das erste Stück, das ich in der neuen Heimat vollendet habe. Und es ist das erste mal, dass ich ein solch feines Muster gestickt habe. Ich muss sagen, ich bin wirklich sehr zufrieden mit dem Resultat. Das Sticken hat immer viel Spaß bereitet und ich freue mich auf Ihre neuen Ideen.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch, Marina!

Ihre Decke sieht wirklich prächtig aus. Alle Details sind perfekt gearbeitet! Die verschiedenen Zierstiche, der Erbslochhohlsaum und das doppelte Erbsloch, der Stopfhohlsaum und nicht zuletzt die Ecken! Ganz besonders gut gefällt mir die Bordüre mit den kleinen Blümchen und die dazu passende Eckgestaltung.Marina_3
Marina teilte mir mit, dass sie 13-fädiges Strathaven Leinen sowie eine Kombination verschiedener Stickgarne verwendet hat. Sie wählte Perlgarn Nr. 8 für Wickelstiche und Plattstiche sowie Vierfachstickgarn Nr. 20 für den Stopfhohlsaum und Nr. 25 für die übrigen Stiche.Marina_4
Ich wünsche Ihnen immer viel Spaß am Sticken – vielleicht wollen Ihre neuen Freunde Ihrem Beispiel folgen und auch eine ähnliche Decke arbeiten?

Viel Glück in der neuen Heimat und danke für die Mitteilung, Marina!Marina_5

2 Kommentare
  1. Thank you for sharing this beautiful tablecloth.

  2. Beautiful, glad to hear she used Strahaven linen and pearl cotton.

    Cathy

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Spende

Spende

Sprache:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen