Follow-up of the Angels Meeting (1)

Never before have I stitched figures in the style of Schwalm whitework. While stitching the angels of the 2018 Advent Calendar, I relied on my Schwalm whitework knowledge but learned that a critical eye and a few well-placed stitches can truly improve the embroidery.

Here are some examples:

The pattern of angel No. 1 is designed with one sleeve inside the dress shape. I wanted to fill both the sleeve and the dress with the same pattern, and I gave a lot of thought to how I could get the pattern to line up through both shapes. Upon completion, I noticed that the sleeve was difficult to perceive as a separate shape. I should have stitched the pattern of the sleeve a little bit staggered to the pattern on the body of the dress. But it was too late for that now – the threads were already withdrawn.

In order to make the sleeve a little bit more prominent, I added one row of Chain stitches outside of the Coral Knot stitches. Working Chain stitches on top of the filling pattern was rather difficult.

The wider edge is not optimal but was the best solution to solve the problem.

The dress of angel No. 7 got a continuous stripe pattern, which – with his outstretched arms – made the angel look somewhat like a board. I immediately realized that a belt would be an improvement. But how should that be designed? As a simple belt strap? Or as a sash tied in a small bow in front of the belly?

Finally, I decided on a looped belt with hearts at the ends. First, I embroidered the little hearts, and then I laid the threads for the belt.

These slight tweaks improved the angel embroidery.

The outline design of the head for Angel No. 8 was very simple. A face was not predetermined.

I stitched along my initial ideas and was appalled by the result.

I transferred the form to paper and tried to find a more successful design.

I embroidered the improved form with the reworked hairstyle. I then placed the eyes a little lower and worked short eyebrows above them. With new hairstyle and complete face (eyes, eyebrows, nose, and mouth), the angel was much more pleasing to me. After the lines disappeared after laundering, this new head was suitable for this angel figure.

As you can see, sometimes only a few slight changes are needed to enhance and improve the overall appearance of a figure. So don’t be afraid to experiment a bit.

2 Comments
  1. Your angels are very cute, especially angel no. 7. I love his hair and his belt.

    • The hairstyle is an important thing to get the angels well done. So I made one more blog post giving an overview over many different possibilities creating hairs.There will be shown also curly hairs not seen so far.

Leave a Reply

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Donation

Donation
To change the language on the donation page, click the word beside the flag or the flag at the bottom of the page.

Language:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Engelsnachlese (1)

Nie zuvor habe ich Engelsfiguren in der Technik der Schwälmer Weißstickerei gearbeitet. Ich musste meine Erfahrungen sammeln und lernte, dass schon wenige Stiche entscheidend dazu beitragen können, das Gesamtbild zu verbessern.

Hier sind einige Beispiele:

Das Muster von Engel 1 wurde mit einem Ärmel innerhalb der Mantelfläche entworfen. Ich wollte beide Flächen mit dem gleichen Muster füllen und gab mir große Mühe, das Muster fortlaufend zu sticken. Nach der Fertigstellung bemerkte ich, dass der Ärmel nur schwer als eigene Fläche wahrzunehmen war. Ich hätte das Muster des Ärmels ein kleines Stückchen versetzt zum Muster des Mantels sticken müssen. Aber dazu war es jetzt zu spät – die Fäden waren gezogen.

Um den Ärmel etwas mehr herauszuheben, umgab ich ihn nachträglich mit einer Reihe von Kettenstichen. (Über ein Füllmuster gestickte Kettenstiche sind nur sehr schwer gleichmäßig zu platzieren.)

Der breitere Rand ist nicht optimal, aber die beste Lösung, um Abhilfe zu schaffen.

Das Kleid von Engel 7 mit seinen ausgestreckten Armen bekam ein durchgehendes Streifenmuster, das den Engel etwas brettartig aussehen ließ. Gleich war mir klar, dass ein Gürtel Verbesserung bringen würde. Aber wie sollte der gestaltet werden? Nur als Gürtelband? Oder als Bindegürtel mit einer kleinen Schleife vor dem Bauch?

Letztendlich entschied ich mich für einen geschlungenen Gürtel mit Herzchen an den Enden. Dazu stickte ich zuerst die kleinen Herzchen und dann drapierte ich die Fäden für den Gürtel.

Durch diese wenigen zusätzlichen Maßnahmen sieht die Engelsstickerei insgesamt gelungen aus.

Die Konturenzeichnung des Kopfes für Engel 8 war sehr schlicht. Ein Gesicht war nicht vorgegeben.

Ich stichelte nach meinen anfänglichen Vorstellungen und war enttäuscht von dem Ergebnis.

Sodann übertrug ich die Form auf Papier und versuchte dort, durch angedeutete Bleistiftlinien eine gelungenere Gestaltung zu finden.

Die bessere Form für die Frisur stickte ich aus. Dann wurden die Augen etwas tiefer angeordnet und mit kurzen Augenbrauen versehen. Das mit Mund und Nase komplettierte Gesicht gefiel mir schon viel besser. Nachdem durch die Wäsche die Hilfslinien verschwunden waren, fand ich den Kopf zu der Engelsgestalt passend.

Wie zu sehen ist, sind es manchmal nur wenige Kunstgriffe, die entscheidend dazu beitragen können, das Gesamtbild einer Figur aufzuwerten. Scheuen Sie sich also nicht, ein wenig zu experimentieren.

2 Kommentare
  1. Your angels are very cute, especially angel no. 7. I love his hair and his belt.

    • The hairstyle is an important thing to get the angels well done. So I made one more blog post giving an overview over many different possibilities creating hairs.There will be shown also curly hairs not seen so far.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Contact

Luzine Happel
Am Schindeleich 43
37269 Eschwege
Deutschland
Telefon: 05651-32233
Website: www.luzine-happel.de
E-Mail: leuchtbergverlag@aol.com

Spende

Spende

Sprache:

Luzine Happel - Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more Infos

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen